You are not alone: Write in the language you want!

TWL_banner

Some people ask me why I write in English, when I know it’s going to be twice as difficult to have a writing career in a language that – I don’t have a problem to admit this – I’m still learning and ‘conquering’.

Well… There are many reasons and none at all, but summarising:

  1. I love travelling and I wanted to get out of my country (and English is a lingua franca).
  2. Publishing/getting a writing career in Spain was getting too complicated and depressing.

Truth is, sometimes I feel alone, as if I was a painter using some colours that just I can see – so for other people they are invisible, and artists have to live for their audience as well, so that’s a problem.

Thousands of times I’ve been told that my setences are awckward or that I’m not using grammar in the conventional way. Those are the moments when I feel that writing in another language has challenges I won´t ever overcome because I cannot see these kind of things unless someone (a native, usually) points them out for me.

But… I’m happy, because I’m not alone. When I was doing a Creative Writing MA I used to feel I was the only one struggling in this second tongue to tell stories, and it was pretty frustrating. Thank God, I met other people along the way who were in my same position and inspired me. I seem to be the only one who feels so apologetic (and even an impostor sometimes) because I write in a second language. Whenever I meet other ‘wandering writers’ they seem to be proud of choosing this path and – what is more – usually they maintain they feel more confident writing in English than in their mother togue, something that doesn’t happen to me (so far).

For those of you struggling (or enjoying) writing in English even if it’s not the first language you learned I wanted to bring a compilation of all the interviews we made so far in our radio programme to wandering writers from all over the world. There are tons of valuable advice… Enjoy!

Yamuna photo.jpg

Yamuna Venugopal

She’s a very intense writer who always manages to reach your heart with her simple – yet powerful – prose. She was born in India but came to Lancaster to study Creative Writing. She was my writing pal there and taught me a lot of things about writing. People liked a lot the way she blended Indian English with her writing – in dialogues and descriptions – as well as words from different Indian languages. Reading her stories was like having a free plane ticket for one of the most fascinating countries in the world. I think from her I learned to bring things from my own culture into my writing.

 

Leonor Macedo.jpg

Leonor Macedo

She’s a Portuguese writer who likes fantasy and YA. She grew up reading English writers such as Neil Gaiman, so that´s why she finds natural to write her dystopian novel in this language. Also, she points out the publishing sector in Portugal is very small. If English is going to give you more chances to write and live doing what you love, go for it!

 

Clown

Monica Guerrasio

What I loved about Monica it’s how easily she talked about writing in both languages, English and Italian (her mother tongue). Since I started writing in English (almost two years ago now) I had felt the need to surround myslef with English books, English cinema, English friends… you could almost say I’m afraid of Spanish as if it was going to ‘pollute’ my English! But sometimes I feel sad about it (hey, Spanish is also cool…) Monica made me think that perhaps switching between different languages just depending the country you’re in can be done. She was also very convinced about translating her own stuff from English to Italian and vice versa. Definitely, something that inspired me a lot, because I can stop seeing languages as ‘enemies’ and start using them in a more complementary way in my art, just as I (try to) do in this blog.

OscarDS

Oscar Delgado Chinchilla.

Oscar was my other writing pal from the MA. What can I see? He’s an amazing Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Steam-punk writer. Check out his stuff there and you’ll get what I mean. He said that writing in English he felt he could be more honest. I also feel I approach writing in different ways depending on the language I write in. Perhaps in English I can be more distant from what I write so I can see the picture and its mechanics better so the final result it’s better (or I feel so). Oscar is also a model to follow because he’s a uni professor (my current goal) and he has this easy way to explain and transmit things in a way that is useful but honest, so you can trust each piece of advice he gives.

We are not alone! These four people really inspired me to continue this journey. They might be the next big name out there, but in any case I’d say that someone who’s so brave as to try writing in another language and sometimes travelling thousand of miles leaving families and friends behind just for the sake of a dream it’s pretty serious about it… Go you!

Have you ever tried to write in a second language? Can you be creative in English? Let’s share experiences!

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. We are not alone, indeed.

    Hace tiempo que sigo tu blog y me encanta que trates todos estos temas relacionados con el plurilingüismo. Soy maestro de educación bilingüe y poeta (sort of) y, por añadir a lo que comentas, a veces siento la necesidad de escribir (y pensar) en inglés, porque expreso mejor lo que quiero decir, o, quizás, porque la propia experiencia que describo está más relacionada con la cultura y la forma de vivir de ese idioma. Siento el inglés como un lugar nuevo, con diferentes vivencias, colores diferentes.
    No me he ido a estudiar ni a trabajar fuera nunca, pero si he estado un tiempo en otros países y a veces es un poco aterrador. Sin embargo, tener la posibilidad de vivir otras culturas es una gozada.

    Un blog fantástico, gracias por compartir tus ideas y experiencias. Keep it going!

    Like

  2. Hi!

    It makes me SO happy to read your comment!

    Es todo un halago que un maestro me lea y encuentre el contenido de este blog interesante. Escribiendo en dos idiomas diferentes a veces me siento un poco perdida, con lo que es genial encontrar a otros a los que le pasa lo mismo. ¿Escribes poesía en inglés? Suena muy interesante, yo no soy capaz ni de armar un verso (ya sea en inglés o español u otras de las lenguas que he estudiado…) Así que… ¡mi admiración es doble!

    Sí, vivir en otro país es una experiencia muy grande, desde luego te abre la mente.

    Muchas gracias por comentar 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

