The Wasabi Challenge

inktober5

So I was in this true sushi-place in Tokyo – my friends are from there and they took me to a local in the basement floor. Nothing touristy, but the real thing, instead. It had (of course) the compulsory rotatory dishes. And two cooks preparing the food on the middle. And free green tea.

So when took my first sushi plate I used the soya sauce… but I couldn’t find the wasabi. And I do like my sushi with a hint of wasabi. So I asked the cook.

God. He took a good handful of wasabi from a wasabi-mountain he had on the kitchen counter and smashed on my dish. (Basically I knew he wanted to smash it directly into my mouth, but his rigid Japanese education didn’t quite allow him).

That’s how I learned that, in Japan, sushi is already done with wasabi. The cooks had the hands covered in the green spice while they were giving form to the rice. Me asking more had been like an annoying challenge.

Do you like wasabi? Did you ever mistaken it with Melon mousse? (I did… when I was young and innocent).

 


Mis amigos de Tokyo me llevaron a un local de sushi, pero de los de verdad. Tenía pinta un poco de antro pero, eso sí, el obligado sistema de platitos rotatorios. También venía con barra libre de té verde y salsa de soja.

Cuando cogí mi primer platito me di cuenta de que no tenía wasabi. Así que, muy educadamente, le pregunté a los cocineros que estaban preparando la comida justo delante de nosotros.

Madre mía, la que lié sin darme ni cuenta. De repente el cocinero cogió un buen puñao (puñao, que no puñado, ¿eh?) de wasabi de una montaña que tenía en la encimera y me lo estampó directamente en el plato. En realidad, yo sentí en ese momento que él quería restregármelo por la boca, pero su estricta educación japonesa se lo había impedido justo a tiempo. Menos mal…

Y así fue como aprendí que en Japón el sushi viene directamente con wasabi. Los cocineros moldean el arroz con las manos empapadas de esta sustancia verde. Básicamente yo les había retado en su propio juego.

¿Os gusta el wasabi? ¿Alguna vez lo habéis confundido con mousse de melón? (Yo sí… cuando era joven e inocente, claro está).

2 comments

Leave a Reply

