Writing Genre

This Writing Life 16_rough

Nothing much to add to that. I actually don’t believe on the ‘difference’ between genre and literary fiction. Please. It’s like saying English literature is better than French – pure nonsense. There are good stories and bad stories and, as a writer, I try to create the good kind, and if after that the editor or the bookseller decides that my story is going to that shelf I don’t mind much.

Books are unique in their kind – the same as humans, really.

As a kind of exercise, let’s try to read something from a different genre just to try. For instance. I never ever pick up anything from the ‘romance shelf’ but who knows! I may try these days – actually, I have a friend who just wrote one book from that genre – and see.

Do you believe in genre? Do you have a preferred one? Why or why not?

This illustration is part of a collection I’m doing for Inktober 2017. My personal theme is This Writing Life. I’m also selling the originals! You like this one? Contact me and you shall have it, soon and easy.

Leave a Reply

