Books of Food?

This Writing Life 23

I have two problems with books.

First, they are expensive. I mean, they’re not really, here in England (as compared to Canada or Spain) but if you read as much as I do (a book per week, sometimes even more) then they are a costly habit. Of course I always go to libraries first (thanks to the gods for creating libraries!) but what about those numerous frustrating occasions when I want to read something that cannot be found in any nearby library?

Well, then I go to FB and ask hoping that anyone kind would have it and is willing to lend it. Thanks also to the goods for the friends. Friends are a good thing.

Second, even if I had infinite money allowance to buy books every month… where would I put them? Ideally, I would have a gigantic library (like the one in the Trinity College in Dublin) where I could leave them but at the present time I don’t own even a complete shelf (things of being pretty nomadic, and also a student).

Yes, I know, we have e-books. Actually, I was given an e-reader a year ago by someone who did not use it anymore and I have to say it has solved many problems of my life – especially when I go travelling: now I don’t need to carry books and books to make sure I won’t get bored in the airport! Yet, there is something beautiful about the book as an object, and I’m not going to pretend that I’m not almost salivating every time I go to a bookshop.

I love books even if they bring ‘problems’. Can you tell me any solution?

This illustration is part of a collection I’m doing for Inktober 2017. My personal theme is This Writing Life. I’m also selling the originals! You like this one? Contact me and you shall have it, soon and easy.

Leave a Reply

