Keep writing

This Writing Life 28

This is basically what keeps me on going. I think we all have art a bit idealised. But at the end of the day, it’s just another skill. Some are good at building houses, others prefer creating stories. It’s not always easy or smooth or pretty. In fact, you rarely reach that state of transcendence when it does feel like magic.

This doodle was a complete disaster. I started doing it late in the evening after having been working all day on a commission. My eyes were tired and, to be honest, all I wanted to do is lie in the sofa and munching on some food while I watched a series. Yet I sketched the illustratio. When I applied the first marker… the ink flooded on the page. I considered starting again, but I was very tired.

So I kept going.

I changed the design, used dark purple to cover the mess. Did it work? I don’t know. But what I can tell you is that when you are an artist you have to fix mess after mess and you anything you do reach your own standards of perfection anyways (ever).

I kept writing when I think I’ve come so far leaving the comfort of the place where I was born. I keep writing when I think of family and friends I left behind. I keep writing when I think about all the money that needs to be made at the end of the month. I keep writing when I think of the office jobs I had and I never want to return to. I keep writing because it makes sense.

Why do you keep writing?

This illustration is part of a collection I’m doing for Inktober 2017. My personal theme is This Writing Life. I’m also selling the originals! You like this one? Contact me and you shall have it, soon and easy.

Leave a Reply

